TBW HomeBrew Competition Winners

First off, from everyone with the TBW team, we would like to thank you for entering this year’s Toronto Beer Week HomeBrew Contest and making it a huge success. We had 247 entries over 24 categories, and the quality was remarkable and a testament to the strength of our homebrewing scene. Unfortunately there could only be 24 winners. Those winning gold will advance through to the second round, which will occur at the Great Lakes Harvest Fest this coming weekend, and will be judged by brewers or representatives from five breweries. If you’ve made it through to the second round you have won something, and how you place in that round will determine what. We have also awarded silver and bronze awards to the 2nd and 3rd placing beers in each category. You may not have won a prize but you should be damn proud of doing well in a very hard fought contest! Feedback on individual entries will start filtering through after TBW is over. We’re slow typers, so please excuse us for the delay…

Anyway, without further delay, here are the results:

Amber Hybrid
Gold: Tony McNelly – California Common
Silver: Graham McGregor – Cali Common
Bronze: Victor North – Burnt Vienna

American Amber and Brown Ales
Gold: David Thompson – Hazelnut Brown Nectar
Silver: Scott White and Pete Thompson – Big Brown
Bronze: Mark Coté – Willy the Moose

American Pale Ale
Gold: Chris George – Lake Walk Pale Ale
Silver: Devon Golding – Cit-r-ass down! APA
Bronze: Andy Robinson – Townshend Pale Ale

Belgian Specialty Ales
Gold: Charles Fajgenbaum – Rouge Blanc
Silver: Greg Simpson – Scarlett Tart
Bronze: Christopher Bourdages – HBC Petersbier

Belgian Strong Ale
Gold: Tim Gregory – Doc’s Feet Dubbel
Silver: Hirsch Goodman and Kevin Snow – The RAMBAM
Bronze: Kyle Teichert – In Brugges Golden Ale

Belgian Wits and Pale Ales
Gold : Graham McGregor – Chamomile Wit
Silver: Ryan Demler – Honey Rye Golden Ale
Bronze: Devon Golding – Trade Wits

Black IPA
Gold: Jeremy Skorochid – The Nightman Cometh
Silver: Duncan Rodger – Hop Will Eat Itself
Bronze: Jeremy Coghill – Black Hearted Ale

English Pale Ale
Gold: Nicholas Verlaine – Springer Premium Bitter
Silver: Nick Perry – House of Perry ESB
Bronze: Peter Friesen – Lauren’s Light Ale

Fruit Beer
Gold: Eric Ecclestone and Russ Burdick – Monk’s Elixir
Silver: Kyle Teichert – All That Jazz – Raspberry Wild Ale
Bronze: Tim Keating and Brian Hovsepian – ManCave Prehistoric Raspberry Wheat

German Wheat and Rye Beer
Gold: Patrick Hirlehey – First Blood
Silver: Ed Lebland – St Maximin’s Weizen Bock
Bronze: Douglas Parker and Jennifer Elliott – Bantam Wheat

Gold: Trevor Green – Buford’s Nightmare IPA
Silver: Devon Golding – Cit-r-ass Down! IPA
Bronze: Raynard Lohleit – The Perfect Strom

Gold: Victor North – Stanza
Silver: Victor North – Strophe
Bronze: Ed Leblang – Labanger Pilsner

Light Hybrid Beer
Gold: Dan Poulin – 11-005 Creme Ale
Silver: Jeremy Skorochid – Wheat Beer
Bronze: Jordan Rainhard – Homecoming Ale

Mead, Braggot, Cider and Perry
Gold: Ryan Demler and Lauren Thompson – Grange Mead
Silver: Ryan Demler and Lauren Thompson – Grange Estate Perry
Bronze: Eric Ecclestone and Russ Burdick – Frostbitten Moongoat of the North

Milds, Stouts and Porters
Gold: Jeremy Skorochid – Coffee Stout
Silver: Kyle Teichert – The Imp – Imperial Milk Porter
Bronze Spencer McCormack – Stormy Night Stout

Gold: David Thompson – Cellar Door Saison
Silver: Kyle McKenzie and Sean Smith – Turn, Turn, Turn
Bronze: Graham McGregor: French Saison

Scottish and Irish Ales
Gold: Mike Bray – Astorien Red
Silver: Devon Golding – Doc Scottish 60/-
Bronze: Andy Robinson – Off Kilter

Smoked Ales and Rauchbiers
Gold: Kyle Teichert – Annihilatrix Imperial Smoked Stout
Silver: Zack Weinberg – German Smoked Robust Porter
Bronze: Zack Weinberg – Claaasic

Sour Ale
Gold: Matt Macdonald – A Bee A Burr
Silver: Matt Macdonald – Gettin Oude
Bronze: Eric Ecclestone and Russ Burdick – Berliner Weisse

Gold: Jacob Schmidt – Bohemian Rhapsody
Silver: Rein Taul – Helen’s Cellar
Bronze: Hircsh Goodman and Kevin Snow – Gluten Free Maple Stout

Spice, Herb and Vegetable Beer
Gold: Zack Weinberg – Kama Stoutra Indian Imperial Stout
Silver: Rein Taul – Wit Dream
Bronze: Greg Simpson – Tall Dark Stranger

Strong Ale
Gold: Jeremy Skorochid – Barleywine
Silver: Eric Ecclestone and Russ Burdick – Old Toby
Bronze: Kyle Teichert – Honey Nugget Barleywine

Strong Specialty
Gold: Eric Ecclestone and Russ Burdick – Tribute
Silver: Duncan Rodger – Lumumba
Bronze: Zack Weinberg – Imperial Winter Wheat

Wood-aged Beer
Gold: Djordje Todrovic, Steve Cameron and Jay Coggins – DJS’ Jaw Breaker
Silver: Victor North – Rock-Dunder Stout
Bronze: Kyle Teichert – Captain Murphy Oak BSDA

Tagged with: ,
Posted in News, TBW HomeBrew Competition
0 comments on “TBW HomeBrew Competition Winners
1 Pings/Trackbacks for "TBW HomeBrew Competition Winners"
  1. [...] contests including CABA’s All About Ales Competition, Great Canadian Homebrew Competition and Toronto Beer Week Homebrew Competition, all of which had their beers competing directly against standard, non-gluten-free beers in various [...]